top of page

From us to you: Letter from the editors

Dear readers,

Firstly, I want to thank all of you for giving us a chance and supporting us by coming to On-Site. On-Site is more than a magazine, we are a platform. We are setting out to create a safe space for young people in London to be able to unapologetically write about their experiences and not have to edit out their truths to fit an agenda that would be more comfortable to hear.

I strongly believe the only way we can break down some of the issues in our society at the moment is by talking about the issue truthfully, even though the truth can often be hard to hear. It is important we don’t shy around topics that we as young people face on a daily basis, whilst still talking about the light hearted stuff like pop culture.

For those of you who don’t know me, I have always wanted to be an editor, I grew up reading the likes of Cosmopolitan, Teen Vogue and Glamour- each magazine has helped shape me as a woman and looking up to their corresponding editors gave me a sense of determination to one day create my own platform.

However, I never just wanted to create something that was like everything else or was already out there. I wanted to create something different, something that could really impact the lives of young people in London, more specifically young people from minority backgrounds.

Ethnic minorities are already ostracised from mainstream media, the industry is notably whitewashed which is why for so long I have dreamed of creating a news platform that young people from BAME backgrounds will be able to look up to and find themselves in, whether that comes from our entertainment articles, political commentary or creative pieces.

On-Site was always the vision, but I always felt like there was something missing in terms of me getting the inspiration to start it. At the start of this year, I was blessed to meet Lucrece, my beautiful friend and creative editor who has given me the drive and encouragement needed to start a dream we have both had for so long.

Together, we created something so beautiful and I hope that you enjoy sharing our vision with us.

Savannah Mullings-Johnson x

 

Hi Readers!

First and foremost, I want to thank each of you beautiful people you for stopping by at On-Site Magazine. The first thing I want people to know about me is that I am here for a generation and not for myself.

I am here to inspire through creativity, colour, motion and reality. I am thrilled to be the Creative Editor of On-Site magazine; to be showcasing youthful London feels, and meshing the stories of young and alternative PoC with aesthetic pleasure.

I always wanted to create a magazine that would uplift an age range that is hardly praised for their individuality – certainly 14 – 20year olds! And although this magazine is for anyone who is lucky enough to stumble upon it, it is important that I shine light towards a demographic of young Londoners who enter adolescence not knowing who they are, what they want, and how to go about life.

Every contributor of this magazine has the goal of inspiring, teaching, and standing up for what is right. I am excited for this magazine to grow in audience and in worth, and I hope sincerely that every person who reads an article or observes the pictures within it will take something purely positive and strengthening away with them.

It does not matter who you are. Because you are alive, you are special. Because you are special, you will be recognised.

Thanking You Again, Yours Faithfully,

Lucrece Grehoua

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page