top of page

Celebrities are human too!

Hi lovelies,

This post is inspired by recent events that some of you may have seen played out in the media surrounding singer/actress Selena Gomez, A.K.A my idol and queen. Selena suffers from an auto-immune condition commonly known as Lupus and as a result of her symptoms has been forced to cancel the remainder of her World tour; a tour that I was luckily enough to get tickets too, but unfortunately will no longer be able to attend. It has been reported by several media publications that she has been struggling with anxiety and depression which was later confirmed in the official statement as seen below.

“As many of you know, around a year ago I revealed that I have lupus, an illness that can affect people in different ways,” the singer told People in an official statement. “I've discovered that anxiety, panic attacks and depression can be side effects of lupus, which can present their own challenges. I want to be proactive and focus on maintaining my health and happiness and have decided that the best way forward is to take some time off.”

“Thank you to all my fans for your support,” she continued. “You know how special you are to me, but I need to face this head on to ensure I am doing everything possible to be my best. I know I am not alone by sharing this, I hope others will be encouraged to address their own issues.”

When the news of Selena's current condition and cancellation broke, I could almost hear the sounds of selenators around the worlds heart breaking because they realised that they would no longer be able to see their idol live. I felt for them, but mostly I was just concerned for Selena and was proud of her for calling off the tour as I would much rather her be in a good health state than putting herself in a very dangerous situation by continuing on with a very mentally demanding tour. However, one thing that shocked me was the amount of abuse I saw being sent her way as scorned fans scolded her for disappointing them and "wasting money". There was a very strong lack of compassion and it was if people saw her as a robot rather than a human being that posesses human feelings. Often, celebrities are subject to extensive trolling and online abuse whether it be racism or body shaming and it sickens me to think that people actually believe having money heals all wounds and demons a person may be dealing with at the time. However, the fact of the matter is that money is a temporary fixture in life just as our whole existence is temporary. When we die none of our material goods will leave with us, we came in alone and we leave on our own, there is no amount of money in the world that could change that. However, it is quite clear that these online trolls have a strong sense of resentment that celebrities are pretty much living the dream during the time that they are here. The funny thing is that if they spent half the time they do trolling and actually invested it into making their lives better, they just might be able to get a taste of that life.

*let's not even waste any more precious time talking about those losers*

I first heard about Selena's Lupus diagnosis last year but up until that moment, I didn't really know much about the condition after than the fact that it affects your bones. Since researching it, I have come to realise just how hard the condition is to live with- Lupus is an autoimmune disease that leads your immune system to attack healthy cells. It is thought to affect around 1.5 million people in the US, and 15,000 in England and Wales. Thus, I commend Selena for even deciding to go through with the tour in the first place as that could not have been an easy decision, considering the state of her health and the fact she had just finished doing a bout of chemo. Not only that but she has been through so much these last few years from her mother's miscarriage, a very public breakup and the brutal murder of Christina Grimmie.

She made a decision because she knew it would benefit the fans, but I don't think she even took the time to think about how it would affect her because she always puts the fans first. Selena has yet to say how long her break will be or whether the tour will resume next year, honestly I hope she takes a few months off and goes back home to Texas so she can get better around family. I pray she is selfless during this time and just takes all the time she needs to get back to her old self because she is HUMAN and suffers just as much as us ordinary folk.

Until next time,

Savannah xoxo

http://misssavannahmj.wixsite.com/savannahlexus/feed.xml

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page