top of page

Music 101: Top Ten Favourite Songs of All Time!


Anyone that knows me will know how much music means to me, it is more than a random song on your Ipod that you have no idea got there or a hobby. Music is literally my life, you know how people ask what three things would you bring to a desert island. I would be the person that brought their Ipod, speaker and charger *in my ideal desert island, there would be power sockets*. Music is the best form of therapy, well for me anyway; I could be having the crappiest day but would find solace in listening to one of my favourite songs. Lately, I have been thinking of different projects that I could do on my blog and I came up with an idea that will allow me to incorporate my love for music by having a weekly series where I create playlists e.g this week will focus on my top ten favourite songs of all time and next week might focus solely on country music.

I hope that through this new series you guys will discover a newfound passion for music and the power of song lyrics, and if you already are a massive music fan, no worries! Allow me to hopefully introduce you to new songs or reacquaint you with some old ones :)

The theme for this week's playlist is favourite songs of all time, as such I will be giving you an insight into the songs that have made me and broke me *Note: I am internally forever sad so most of my playlists reflect that lol.* But seriously what would life be without sad songs, pretty bloody dire in my opinion.

 

Now on to the playlist, which btw is in no particular order:

1. Lady Antebellum- Need you now <3

This song will forever hold a special place in my heart, it is the song that got me into country music and for that I will always be grateful to Lady A. I remember the first time I watched this on youtube and instantly started searching for similar artists/songs, by the evening of that same day, I had become accustomed to some of the greatest country artists, a genre that has really helped shape who I am as a person and continues to be my all time favourite. #CountryGirlForLife

2. Selena Gomez- Who Says

"You made me insecure, told me I wasn't good enough. But who are you to judge, when you're a diamond in the rough." This song got me through so much during my early adolescent years and is one of the biggest reasons why Selena will always be my queen, idol and inspiration. A power anthem for all young women that teaches the importance of self worth and what it means to love yourself.

3. Crowded House- Don't dream it's over

This song has been one of my favourites for what feels like forever now. It motivates to keep on dreaming and never lose sight of what I want out of life. A power anthem for those who feel at a wit's end and want desperately to give up.

4. Brad Paisley ft Alison Krauss- Whiskey Lullaby

Another country jam that pulls at all the wrong heartstrings; in the sense that if you are looking for a song and accompanying video to make you sob your eyes out. You need not to look any further than this song all about heartbreak, loss and grief. I have nothing else to say apart from the fact that this song is my all time favourite.

5. The Smiths- Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now

This song speaks for itself to be honest written by the great lyricist that is Morrisey. I love anything by The Smiths but this one happens to be my all time fave.

6. John Mayer- Slow Dancing in a Burning Room

Guitar Riffs, heartbreak and powerful lyrics... you name it, this song literally has it all. Slow Dancing in a Burning Room is a song all about a relationship that is long time broken but rather than break up, they merely put off the inevitable. A beautiful song about the reality of broken relationships.

7. Hayley Kiyoko- Girls like Girls

This song didn't come out that long ago and was written by Actress/Singer Hayley Kiyoko who some may know from the Disney film Lemonade Mouth. It is a song all about coming to terms with one's sexuality and loving someone regardless of gender. Girls like Girls is a powerful anthem for the LGBT community and a song that I think everyone should listen to.

8. One Direction- What makes you beautiful

The song that started it all allowing me to become part of a family of dedicated directioners who have changed my life for the better. Listening to this song brings me back to a time when we only had to worry about the next colour of braces the boys would wear and Mr X not breaks, departures and feuds.

9. The 1975- If I believe you

This song resonates with me because I can relate to it so much. If I believe you is a song about being a non-believer and trying to understand religion as well as the instinct to looki to higher powers in tough times. If you do anything today it should be listening to this song, beautifully written and flows more like poetry than anything else.

10. Daughter-Love

Love is a beautiful song all about loving someone that doesn't feel the same way. I love anything by Daughter but this one is my favourite for many reasons.

I hope you guys enjoy my very emotionally driven playlist and fall in love with some of the songs just as much as I do.

Until next time,

Savannah x

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page