top of page

Life Update + Suicide Squad Review


Life Update: Hey guys, the past few weeks in my life have been crazy after being prescribed some medication for Poly-cystic Ovaries, I became really ill for about a week and a half so it's back to the drawing board until my next doctors appointment anyway. Also I binge-watched the new Netflix drama Stranger Things and I am hooked... Eleven is bae. Not only that but I have so much stuff planned for my blog, including some upcoming tags such as Music 101 and Hottie of the Month but more of that to come. What else, oh yeah I get my A Level results in about 11 days *pray for me*

Review: So i'm back this time with a review of the much anticipated Suicide Squad. Suicide Squad is a film that been in the works for the last few years, it was expected to give the DC universe that push it needed to earn it's credibility in the movie world. However after its release this week, the film has fallen victim to a bunch of bad reviews and after seeing it yesterday I can kind of understand why. Suicide Squad wasn't a bad film, I would probably call it a solid 6.5 out of ten but what I found and the same problem occurred with Batman V Superman is that the writers had good ideas but showed no clear direction. It was like watching a toddler paint in the sense that they have a clear sense of what they want to create but the end product is just splatters of their imagination that only they can understand and explain.

************* Mild Spoilers ahead ***************

Character Development: 7/10

I was impressed with the development of the characters in Suicide Squad because it feel like it provided a good enough foundation that can be built on in later films i.e Justice League, however for a film that was meant to focus on a group of assailants it focused heavily on Harley Quinn and Dead-shot. Did the writers give us a good background into the other members journey of how they came to be under the imprisonment of A.R.G.U.S? YES. Was it enough? NO. In my opinion, the film is carried by the presence of Harley, I really don't think it would even be remotely good if she wasn't in it. Although, we don't see much of Jared Leto's Joker in Suicide Squad, I was really happy with his portrayal of a more darker, twisted Joker to the one portrayed by his predecessor Heath Ledger *R.I.P*. However, I do think the writers have some explaining to do because the trailers that they released made it seem as though the Joker would play a much more prominent role in the film than he actually did, I actually think if they had him appear as the main villain and explored his and Harley's relationship more the film probably would have got a better reception.

Let me just take a moment thought to fully appreciate how great Will Smith was in his role as Dead-shot. Deadshot was one of the few characters that I felt they got right and did justice.

In terms of some the other characters, I feel like the film could have done without them e.g Enchantress. I don't know if it was Cara's portrayal or just that it felt like she was thrown in at the last minute, I definitely feel like the presence of Enchantress is what made the film feel so jumpy and unorganised but I can't go into much detail without spoiling it so i'll just leave that there.

Viola Davis smashed it as Amanda Waller but there was never a doubt in my mind that she wouldn't, I mean she literally smashes every performance.

Plot: 5/10

The plot was there but poorly executed, as I said it was very all over the place. Suicide Squad was much better than Batman v Superman and made me realise why I used to be so obsessed with Harley Quinn, I have faith that they will get their act together by the release of Justice League... They have to because if they eff up Flash, I'm going to go all Deadshot on their asses. The actual plot of the film doesn't really get going until the second half of the film and even then the course of the film seemed to change direction several times.

Soundtrack: 9/10

The soundtrack is sooooooooooo good. The songs were one of the few things they got right in the film which is why I came home last night and downloaded the soundtrack.

Overall Comments:

A film that had a lot of potential but lacked delivery, Margot Robbie stole the show as Harley Quinn and really carried the film. I would really only watch it again to see her scenes, DC give her a solo film and start making some real money :)

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page